Wiring Question for Sump Area

Anything Aquarium-Related that does not fit neatly into one of the other categories.
Redfish
Discus Member
My SetUp: AGA 150g 48x30x25, Reef Octopus Skimmer, Bio Pellet, Phosphate, Carbon reactor. Mostly a SPS coral tank with a few zoas a Green Polyp Toadstool, a Chalice or two and a couple of Scollys thrown in there. Top Off System and dosing pump system for Calcium and Alk.

Wiring Question for Sump Area

Post by Redfish » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:23 am

I am not an electrician, so this will seem like a dumb question to those of you that know a thing or two on this subject. I was reading a tank build post last nite ( I have seen this before in some other builds also ) under the tank inside the tank stand this man had placed about four on and off switches, the same kind you have on the wall in your house to turn your lights on and off, he also had about four double wall sockets mounted inside the tank stand, just like the ones in your house that you plug a lamp into. The wires from these switches and wall sockets were run thru gray PVC pipe that you see electricians use, all very neatly done, not like my sump area with wires running here and there. Now to my electrical question: How is he getting power to these switches and plugs ( he didn't show this in his pics) Are the wires in the gray PVC running from these plugs and switches separated where they come out from under the stand on the back side of the stand and wired into a wall socket or are do they just have a plug on the end of the wires like an extension cord plug on the ends and you just plug it into a wall socket that is on the wall behind the stand? This was very neatly done, he had the two external return pumps under the stand where and he could just switch them off with the flick of a switch, not like under my tank where I have to grab the wire and trace it out with my hand to make sure I wasn't unplugging the wrong thing.

FishVet
Swordtail Member